Skip to main content

IZ takes a stand on the merger of the programme management for "Erasmus+" and "European Solidarity Corps”

The association "IZ - Verein zur Förderung von Vielfalt, Dialog und Bildung" expresses its regret about the decision to bundle the overall management of the EU programmes "Erasmus+" and "European Solidarity Corps" in one National Agency from 1.1.2021 and would like to point out the following facts.

IZ has been already involved in the development of European mobility programmes in the youth sector in Austria for 28 years and has been acting as National Agency for the youth sector for 21 years in total. During this period, IZ has built up expertise to ensure that the EU programmes "Erasmus+: Youth in Action" and "European Solidarity Corps" are implemented in line with the specific characteristics of the youth sector. The successful fulfilment of this mission was also crucial for the acquisition of additional funds for the establishment of a Europe-wide youth research network (RAY) and the European Solidarity Corps Resource Centre.

The Federal Ministry of Labour, Family and Youth and the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research justified the decision to merge the management of the programmes by the need to implement recommendations of the European Commission and the Austrian Court of Auditors. IZ notes that the current proposal of the European Commission for the new generation of programmes states the following:

In order to ensure efficient and effective implementation of this Regulation, the Programme should make maximum use of delivery mechanisms already in place. The implementation of the Programme should therefore be entrusted to the Commission, and to national agencies. Where feasible, and in order to maximise efficiency, the national agencies should be the same as the one designated for the management of the predecessor programme. The scope of the ex-ante compliance assessment should be limited to the requirements that are new and specific to the Programme, unless justified, such as in case of serious shortcomings or underperformance on the part of the national agency concerned.

Proposal for a REGULATION OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND OF THE COUNCIL establishing 'Erasmus': the Union programme for education, training, youth and sport and repealing Regulation (EU) No 1288/2013 - COM/2018/367 final - 2018/0191 (COD)

In addition, independent audit bodies have confirmed in recent years that the program has been implemented by IZ flawlessly, efficiently and cost-effectively. The reference by the federal ministries to a recommendation by the EU Commission is therefore incomprehensible to IZ.

The content of the Court of Audit's draft report is not known to the IZ to date, and the main reasons for the decision have not been communicated to IZ. The question of the concrete potential for improvement therefore currently remains open.

IZ therefore welcomes the many voices from civil society and in particular the youth sector in Austria that have called for a public tender for the implementation of the EU youth support programmes. It is regrettable to note that - after 28 years of successful work in the youth sector under the "Erasmus+" and "European Solidarity Corps" programmes - there will no longer be an independent National Agency for non-formal education from 2021 onwards.

Even without being commissioned as a National Agency, IZ will continue to work for participation, equal opportunities and inclusion, the ability to participate and shape decisions and the promotion of an appreciative approach to diversity in society from 2021.

Direkt zum Inhalt

IZ bezieht Stellung zur Zusammenlegung der Programmverwaltung für „Erasmus+“ und „Europäisches Solidaritätskorps“

English version

Der Verein „IZ - Verein zur Förderung von Vielfalt, Dialog und Bildung“ bringt sein Bedauern über die Entscheidung zum Ausdruck, die Gesamtabwicklung der EU-Programme „Erasmus+“ und „Europäisches Solidaritätskorps“ ab 1.1.2021 in einer Nationalagentur zu bündeln und möchte auf die folgenden Fakten hinweisen.

Das IZ war bereits vor 28 Jahren in den Aufbau europäischer Mobilitätsprogramme im Jugendbereich in Österreich involviert und hat davon 21 Jahre als Nationalagentur für den Jugendbereich fungiert. In diesem Zeitraum hat das IZ Expertise aufgebaut, um eine den Besonderheiten des Jugendsektors entsprechende Umsetzung der EU-Programme „Erasmus+: Jugend in Aktion“ und „Europäisches Solidaritätskorps“ zu gewährleisten. Die erfolgreiche Erfüllung dieses Auftrags war auch ausschlaggebend für das Lukrieren zusätzlicher Mittel für die Etablierung eines europaweiten Jugend-Forschungsnetzwerkes (RAY) und das European Solidarity Corps Ressource Center.

Das Bundesministerium für Arbeit, Familie und Jugend und das Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung begründen die Entscheidung der Zusammenlegung der Agenturen damit, Empfehlungen der EU-Kommission und des österreichischen Rechnungshofes umzusetzen. Das IZ hält dazu fest, dass im aktuellen Vorschlag der Europäischen Kommission für die neue Programmgeneration Folgendes vermerkt wird:

„Im Interesse einer effizienten und wirksamen Umsetzung dieser Verordnung sollte das Programm möglichst auf bestehende Mechanismen zurückgreifen. Die Durchführung des Programms sollte daher der Kommission und nationalen Agenturen anvertraut werden. Im Sinne größtmöglicher Wirksamkeit sollten die nationalen Agenturen nach Möglichkeit dieselben sein, die für die Verwaltung des Vorläuferprogramms benannt worden waren. Der Umfang der Ex-ante-Konformitätsbewertung sollte sich auf neue, für das Programm spezifische Anforderungen beschränken, sofern dies gerechtfertigt ist und keine schwerwiegenden Mängel oder mangelhaften Leistungen der betroffenen nationalen Agentur vorliegen.“

(COM(2018) 367 final: Proposal for a REGULATION OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND OF THE COUNCIL establishing 'Erasmus': the Union programme for education, training, youth and sport and repealing Regulation (EU) No 1288/2013 (44))

Außerdem bestätigten unabhängige Prüfstellen des Bundes dem IZ in den letzten Jahren eine fehlerfreie, effiziente und kostengünstige Umsetzung des Programms. Die Bezugnahme der Bundesministerien auf eine Empfehlung der EU-Kommission ist demnach für das IZ nicht nachvollziehbar.

Der Inhalt des Rohberichtes des Rechnungshofes ist dem IZ bis dato nicht bekannt, auch wurden die wesentlichen Begründungen für die Entscheidung dem IZ nicht mitgeteilt. Die Frage nach dem konkreten Verbesserungspotenzial bleibt somit aktuell offen.

Das IZ begrüßt daher die vielen Stimmen aus der Zivilgesellschaft und insbesondere dem Jugendsektor in Österreich, die sich für eine öffentlich Ausschreibung zur Implementierung der EU-Jugendförderprogramme eingesetzt haben. Es ist mit Bedauern festzuhalten, dass es – nach 28 Jahren erfolgreicher Arbeit im Jugendbereich der Programme „Erasmus+“ und „Europäisches Solidaritätskorps“ – ab 2021 keine eigenständige Nationalagentur für den non-formalen Bildungsbereich mehr geben wird.

Auch ohne eine Beauftragung als Nationalagentur wird sich das IZ ab 2021 weiter für Teilhabe, Chancengerechtigkeit und Inklusion, die Befähigung zur Mitbestimmung und Mitgestaltung sowie die Förderung eines wertschätzenden Umgangs mit Vielfalt in der Gesellschaft einsetzen.